Film & TV

Anugerah Majlis Pengkritik Filem KL 2018 Honours The Summit of Malaysian Cinema

With a varied list of nominees in an attempt to attentively narrow the chosen primes of this year’s local films, Anugerah Majlis Pengkritik Filem Kuala Lumpur (AMPFKL) announced the winners for each category on previous Sunday.

 One of the quietest local award shows out there without the glamour of stars posing in extravagant attires on red carpets and the scrutiny of thousands of viewers watching speeches on screen, the AMPFKL “hosts” their show by merely announcing the selected winners of the list of categories that will then be featured on sites and media platforms. It has been a tight vying between the many film productions which ranged from hybrids like crime-dramas, horror-thrillers, fantasy-action and period dramas but alas decisions have been made and these are the victors of 2018’s AMPFKL.


The award of the night for Best Feature Film is in the grasp of Crossroads: One Two Jaga from producers Rozi Izma Abdul Karim and Bront Palarae and the film’s winning streak continued with director Nam Ron helming the Best Director nomination; the film that fictionalised the issue of Malaysian authorities in dealing with immigration on our shores caught the attention of the critics at the circle when they were nominated with 7 nominations.

Another film that has been considered as the film of the year is Anugerah Skrin winner, Dukun with Umie Aida awarded for Best Actress and Faizal Hussein achieving Best Supporting Actor which is considered a great feat when their performances were in fact documented and produced over more than a decade ago and they as actors must have developed in their artistic careers yet going against recent thespians, the dark chemistry that Dukun’s performers depicted is the spire of mesmerising and memorable.

Source: Star2

The adaptation of Oscar Wilde‘s The Importance of Being Earnest, Mencari Rahmat is a triumphant execution that is both an original work and an exegesis of a classic play as it went on to win the award for Best Screenplay by  Al Jafree Md Yusop with Adibah Noor further affixing the film’s notability as she took home the award for Best Supporting Actress for her zealous performance. The historical and biographical drama, Kabir Bhatia‘s Pulang was one of the highlighted films this year as it was received well by audiences and had been expected as a contestant for many film award shows which isn’t surprising when the male lead, Remy Ishak was awarded Best Actor for playing a sailor who is away from his family as he embarked on a formidable voyage.

Other films like the drama, Shuttle Life is celebrated for its production winning Best Cinematography by Chen Ko Chin and it is irrefutable that AMPFKL resolved on the list of winners upon vigilant observations of the nominees such as concluding Faizal Hussein’s performance as a supporting actor and not the lead because of the enigmatic Umie Aida’s Diana Dahlan whose story is the pinnacle connecting the other characters relying on her own account. With the year almost coming to an end, we are restless to wait on what the industry of filmmakers will create in the year 2019 and there is expectancy that there will be an assorted scope of movies produced.

Best Director: Nam Ron (Crossroads: One Two Jaga)

Best Actor: Remy Ishak (Pulang)

Best Actress: Umie Aida (Dukun)

Best Supporting Actor: Faizal Hussein (Dukun)

Best Supporting Actress: Adibah Noor (Mencari Rahmat)

Best Screenplay: Al Jafree Md Yusop (Mencari Rahmat)

Best Cinematography: Chen Ko Chin (Shuttle Life)



Featured Image source: IMDb.  


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: